Select Page

Automotive Service Technology Program

Mechanic performing basic care and maintenance

An exciting, fast-paced, and rewarding career.

CARES Act Funding:

This program is included in the Rapid Credentialing Grant which was designed in response to COVID-19.

Introduction:

Today, automotive technicians use computers and scanners to help diagnose problems in cars. This discipline is taught by ASE (Automotive Service Excellence) certified instructors and allows students who complete specific coursework to be qualified for employment or additional specialized training.

Career Opportunities:

  • Light Duty Service Assistant
  • Engine Performance/Repair Technician
  • Service Manager
  • Shop Owner/Operator
  • Automatic & Manual Drive Train Technician or TransAxle Technician
  • Steering, Suspension, and Alignment Technician
  • Brake System Technician
  • Electrical/Electronic System Technician
  • Heating & Air Conditioning Technician
  • Automotive Parts Specialist

Employment Outlook:

Employment of automotive service technicians and mechanics is projected to show little or no change from 2018 to 2028.

Salary:

The average wage for this career in Florida is $19.23 hourly or $39,990 annually.

Completion Requirements:

The entire program is 1800 hours. Students can earn a certificate at the completion of the following Occupational Completion Points (OCPs):

OCPCOURSEHOURS
OCP AAutomotive Services Assistor300 Hours
OCP BEngine Repair Technician150 Hours
OCP CAutomatic Transmission & Trans-axle Technician150 Hours
OCP DManual Drive Train & Axle Technician150 Hours
OCP EAutomobile Suspension and Steering Technician150 Hours
OCP FAutomotive Brake System Technician150 Hours
OCP GAutomotive Electrical / Electronic System Technician300 Hours
OCP HAutomotive Heating and A/C Technician150 Hours
OCP IAutomotive Engine Performance Technician300 Hours
Total Hours: 1800

Location & Course’s Schedule:

Automotive Service Technology is available at the following school (s):

LOCATIONCOURSE'S SCHEDULE
Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 1:40 p.m.
Monday - Friday from 5:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Lindsey Hopkins Technical College Monday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 1:40 p.m.
Monday - Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:15 p.m.
Robert Morgan Educational Center & Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Contact Information at the Location:

Additional information can be provided by student services:

LOCATIONCOUNSELOR / REGISTRAR EMAILPHONE NUMBER
Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical College
(305) 557-1100
Danielle Taylor
Jackie Benjamin
Vanessa Torres
Elizabeth Forero
dtaylor2394@dadeschools.net
jbenjamin1@dadeschools.net
vatorres@dadeschools.net
eforero@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2230
Ext. 2215
Ext. 2250
Ext. 2216
Lindsey Hopkins Technical College
(305) 324-6070
Patricia Estiverne
Sandra Hawkins
Jacques Lucien
Rose Jasmin
patriciab@dadeschools.net
shawkins@dadeschools.net
JDLucien@dadeschools.net
209710@dadeschools.net
Ext. 7089
Ext. 7129
Ext. 7039
Robert Morgan Educational Center & Technical College
(305) 253-9920
Mirtha Silverang
Maria Ruiz
Kathy Pearson
Irene Montoto
msilverang@dadeschools.net
millieruiz@dadeschools.net
kpearson@dadeschools.net
irenemontoto@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2145
Ext. 2147
Ext. 2159
Ext. 2150

 

Source

 

Transportation