Registration Requirement for Career Technical Education (CTE) Programs

Admissions

  • Any person 16 years of age or older
  • Officially withdrawn from any K-12 program
  • Proof of Identity
  • Meet all program specific pre-entrance requirements (if applicable)*
  • Complete online registration forms
  • Complete a Florida Residency Verification for “in-state” tuition
  • Pay required fees and tuition

Entrance into CTE programs may have additional pre-entrance requirements and require counselor approval. Program requirements may include:

  • High school graduation or GED transcripts
  • Orientation
  • Minimum scores on entrance test

A student who enters a Career and Technical Educational (CTE) program, with 450 plus instructional clock hours, is required to complete a basic skills examination within the first six (6) calendar weeks after admission into a CTE program. Exceptions from the basic skills testing requirements are given to students who have one of the following:

  • A Florida Standard High School Diploma issued after 2006 or
  • An Associate of Applied Science or Arts or higher

Tuition and Fees

CTE Programs in a Miami-Dade County Public School are required to charge tuition as established by the Florida Legislature.

Students who have lived in the State of Florida during the past twelve consecutive months must complete a Florida Residency verification for “in-state” tuition ($2.56 per hour) by providing two acceptable documents from the list below:

GROUP AGROUP B
Florida I.D. or Florida Driver’s LicenseCertified Letter from Agency
Vehicle RegistrationVehicle Registration
Proof of Homestead ExemptionProof of Homestead Exemption
Proof of Permanent HomeLease Agreement
Official High School TranscriptMembership in Florida-based Organization
Voter’s Registration CardFlorida Incorporation (12 prior months)
Proof of Full-Time Employment for past 12 monthsProfessional or Occupational License
Utility Bill

Note:  One of the two pieces of documentation must be from group A.

Students not meeting this criterion will pay “out-of-state” tuition rates ($10.25 per training hour).