Select Page

Dental Assistant Program

Dental assistant assisting the dentist during a variety of treatment procedures

Provide support and assistance under the instruction and supervision of a dentist.

Introduction:

Clinical duties include helping to manage the dental office, preparing patients for treatment, charting patient treatment, exposing and processing dental X-Ray instruments. Providing oral hygiene instruction, preparing dental filling material, taking impressions for study purposes or models, and making casts of teeth are vital elements of training. The dental assistant program completion will require approximately one year.

Employment Opportunities:

Dental assistants can work in private dental offices, dental schools, or hospitals. There will be many opportunities for entry-level positions, but some dentists prefer to hire experienced assistants, those who have completed a dental assisting program or have met state requirements.

Career Opportunities:

  • Dental Assistant

Employment Outlook:

Employment of dental assistants is projected to grow 19% from 2016 to 2026.

Salary:

The average wage for this career in Florida is $18.23 hourly or $37,920 annually.

Completion Requirements:

The entire program is 1230 hours. Students can earn a certificate at the completion of the following Occupational Completion Points (OCPs):

OCPCOURSEHOURS
OCP AIntroduction to Dental Assisting90 Hours
OCP BDental Infection Control Assistant210 Hours
OCP CDental Assistant 1
Dental Assistant 2
465 Hours
465 Hours
Total Hours: 1230

Location & Course’s Schedule:

Dental Assistant is available at the following school (s):

LOCATIONCOURSE'S SCHEDULE
Lindsey Hopkins Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical CollegeMonday and Wednesday from 4:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Robert Morgan Educational Center & Technical CollegeMonday - Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 2:15 p.m.

Contact Information at the Location:

Additional information can be provided by student services:

LOCATIONCOUNSELOR / REGISTRAR EMAILPHONE NUMBER
Lindsey Hopkins Technical College
(305) 324-6070
Patricia Estiverne
Sandra Hawkins
Jacques Lucien
Rose Jasmin
patriciab@dadeschools.net
shawkins@dadeschools.net
JDLucien@dadeschools.net
209710@dadeschools.net
Ext. 7089
Ext. 7129
Ext. 7039
Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical College
(305) 557-1100
Danielle Taylor
Jackie Benjamin
Vanessa Torres
Elizabeth Forero
dtaylor2394@dadeschools.net
jbenjamin1@dadeschools.net
vatorres@dadeschools.net
eforero@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2230
Ext. 2215
Ext. 2250
Ext. 2216
Robert Morgan Educational Center & Technical College
(305) 253-9920
Mirtha Silverang
Maria Ruiz
Kathy Pearson
Irene Montoto
msilverang@dadeschools.net
millieruiz@dadeschools.net
kpearson@dadeschools.net
irenemontoto@dadeschools.net
Ext. 2145
Ext. 2147
Ext. 2159
Ext. 2150

 

Source

Healthcare Occupations